SLM CorpSLM
Price$22.61Intrinsic value$21.316% below price

Qualitative Analysis

Business overview

Business Overview

SLM Corp, widely known as Sallie Mae, is the preeminent leader in the private education loan (PEL) market in the United States, holding an estimated 60% to 67% market share in undergraduate and graduate originations. Spun off from its legacy servicing operations in 2014, the modern SLM Corp operates as a consumer banking franchise focused on originating, servicing, and collecting private student loans. The company's funding is highly diversified, anchored by retail deposit accounts (including high-yield savings, money market accounts, and certificates of deposit) and supplemented by asset-backed securities (ABS) and senior debt issuances. Sallie Mae operates an originate-and-sell business model, periodically executing large-scale loan sales to optimize its balance sheet, manage capital adequacy, and generate recurring fee-based servicing income.

Research as of 19 Jun 2026

Strategic Initiatives

Growth programs, investments, and their expected impact

AI-assisted
Private Credit Strategic Partnership ModelEfficiency

Establishing a capital-light, fee-based revenue strategy by selling originated Private Education Loans to third-party institutional investors while retaining customer relationships, servicing responsibilities, and earning ongoing program management fees.

Expected impact: Unlocks off-balance-sheet capital efficiency, creates a more resilient and consistent earnings profile, and expands loan origination capacity.

Sign in / Sign up to read more
InvestmentNot specified
TimelineInitiated in late 2025 with KKR; planning expansion or a second partner by the end of 2026.
Grad PLUS Market ExpansionGrowth

Aggressively investing in product design, technology, and marketing to capture market share in the graduate student lending space ahead of federal student lending reforms.

Expected impact: The Grad PLUS market represents an estimated $5 billion opportunity once fully scaled, which management projects could drive EPS acceleration starting in 2027 with high-teens to low-20% growth.

Sign in / Sign up to read more
InvestmentIncluded in the increased 2026 non-interest expense guidance of $750 million to $780 million.
TimelineRamping up marketing and product differentiation to capture market share starting in the 2026/2027 academic year.
Beyond the Loan StrategyInnovation

Pivoting toward digital tools that assist students with career planning, financial literacy, and scholarship searches (leveraging the Scholly acquisition) to engage customers earlier in the college-planning lifecycle.

Expected impact: Lowers customer acquisition costs and increases lifetime customer value by building brand loyalty before the financing decision is made.

Sign in / Sign up to read more
InvestmentNot specified
TimelineOngoing through 2025 and 2026.
Sources: 1

Mergers, Acquisitions & Partnerships

Recent deals and strategic collaborations

AI-assisted

Strategic Partnerships

KKRPrivate Credit Funding and Loan Sale Agreement

Inaugural multi-year strategic partnership where KKR credit funds commit to purchasing an initial seed portfolio of private education loans followed by a minimum of $2 billion in newly originated loans annually for an initial three-year term. Sallie Mae retains servicing and earns recurring fee income.

Terms: KKR commits to purchasing a minimum of $2 billion in loans annually over a three-year term. Sallie Mae earns ongoing fees for servicing, program management, and industry expertise.

Sign in / Sign up to read more
Adtalem Global Education Inc.Alternative Financing Solutions Collaboration

Signed a Letter of Intent to explore and develop customized alternative financing frameworks specifically designed for healthcare students across Adtalem's five institutions, anticipating the federal Grad PLUS program phase-out.

Terms: Subject to final definitive agreements; intended to establish tailored financing solutions including deferred repayment options and degree-specific terms.

Sign in / Sign up to read more
Sources: 2
AI-assisted, source-linked narrative; figures from company filings (SEC EDGAR) and market data. Dates shown per section. Not investment advice. Terms of Use.