Kentucky First Federal BancorpKFFB
Price$5.91Intrinsic value$5.2112% below price

Qualitative Analysis

Business overview

Business Overview

Kentucky First Federal Bancorp (NASDAQ: KFFB) is a federal charter savings institution holding company formed in March 2005. It operates as the parent company for two independent, community-oriented savings banks: First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Hazard (operating one office in Hazard, Kentucky) and First Federal Savings Bank of Kentucky (operating six offices across Frankfort, Danville, and Lancaster, Kentucky). The company's primary operations consist of attracting deposits from the general public and applying those funds to originate residential mortgage loans, multi-family loans, construction loans, and nonresidential real estate loans. First Federal MHC holds a majority stake of approximately 58.5% of the company's outstanding common stock.

Research as of 20 Jun 2026

Strategic Initiatives

Growth programs, investments, and their expected impact

AI-assisted
Regulatory Compliance and Operational NormalizationTransformation

Addressing and resolving operational and capital deficiencies previously identified under the formal written agreement with the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) dated August 13, 2024.

Expected impact: Successfully terminated the OCC agreement in less than 20 months, removing the 'troubled condition' status of First Federal Savings Bank of Kentucky, restoring its status as an 'eligible savings association', and lifting the enforcement of individual minimum capital requirements (IMCRs).

Sign in / Sign up to read more
InvestmentNot specified
TimelineCompleted on February 19, 2026
Leadership Transition to Restore ProfitabilityTransformation

Strengthening the executive leadership team by appointing R. Clay Hulette as Chief Executive Officer of the Company and President/CEO of First Federal Savings Bank of Kentucky, while transitioning Don D. Jennings to Director of Operations of the Bank to focus on implementing profitability strategies.

Expected impact: Leverage deep operational and regulatory familiarity to improve profitability, execute strategic initiatives, and build long-term shareholder value.

Sign in / Sign up to read more
InvestmentNot specified
TimelineAnnounced October 8, 2025; regulatory non-objection received December 10, 2025
Balance Sheet Optimization and Core Deposit GrowthEfficiency

Executing strategies to increase core deposits, reduce reliance on higher-cost Federal Home Loan Bank (FHLB) advances, and manage interest rate risk through structured asset-liability matching.

Expected impact: Improve net interest margin and overall earnings performance. For the nine months ended March 31, 2026, net earnings improved to $1.2 million compared to $5,000 in the prior-year period, driven primarily by higher net interest income.

Sign in / Sign up to read more
InvestmentNot specified
TimelineOngoing
Sources: 2
AI-assisted, source-linked narrative; figures from company filings (SEC EDGAR) and market data. Dates shown per section. Not investment advice. Terms of Use.